Minor Setbacks

So now I’m faced with gestational diabetes for the remainder of my pregnancy. Really, it isn’t as life altering as I would have expected. Already I avoid a lot of refined sugars… but carbs are a problem for me. I love my pasta. And I know I can still have it but it’s all in moderation and I have to watch the carb intake.

Today I did my first glucose check. When I was a child I remember having to be held down so the nurse could do a finger stick or take blood, so I was terrified of having to do this to myself. Seriously. It kept me up part of the night and when I did sleep I woke up with one word on my mind. Diabetes.

I can’t complain, really. I only have to deal with this for a limited amount of time. Once I have the baby the diabetes should go away. There are a lot of people that deal with this their entire lives. My baby cousin Johnny is one of these people. (Sorry kiddo but when you are 30 you will consider preteen as ‘baby’ too)

Anyway – I did my first sugar check. I was terrified! I calibrated the machine. I set up my lancet. Washed my hands. Put the test strip in the machine… I was good to go. I could do it, right? Ha… I pulled the lancet away from my finger four time before I finally closed my eyes and pushed the button… First thought? “That was it?”

I have to say, this machine is pretty awesome. It uses so little blood to get a reading!!! The torture devices we used in the nursing home needed a lot more blood that this one. I was prepared for that. Even still – I was squeezing my finger until I had a good little droplet of blood… but the machine didn’t even take in half of it. (What a waste!)

My fasting sugar was 97 and my doctor said normal is 95… I didn’t think that was too shabby!!!

So today I learn about diet changes and how to balance my carbs and proteins. I have an education class with the OB nurse and she will walk me through the basics. If I need to I can call a nutritionist. I have a lot of resources at my disposal. So I can do this. Only 78 (SEVENTY-EIGHT!!!!) more days until my due date and my doctor is already planning on a c-section a week before that (SEVENTY-ONE DAYS!!!). Two and a half months?? Oh my.

I’ve suddenly just thought of a million things I still need to do before the baby arrives. But first, coffee.

About Beth

I use sarcasm as a defense mechanism. I care too much about what people think of me. I’ve never found myself to be good enough. I have a creative and artistic mind. I love lima beans and I hate the fuzz on peaches. I love to travel and when I’m away I dream of home. I over use computer shorthand. I swear a lot. I adore the color pink and hate yellow. I’m married. I have two kids. I care about the environment. I am never without my iPod because music is like oxygen. I'm a gadget girl. I talk to myself when nobody is listening. I have a strange obsession with penguins. I am *gasp* thirty one and I still wish on falling stars. I am a dreamer. I wear my heart on my sleeve and give it away too easily.

Leave a comment